# The Twenty-Fourth Annual UO Eugene Luks Programming Competition will indeed be held this year on May 14, 2022.

The programming contest is being resurrected this year after two years off due to pandemic restrictions. It will be held in room 100 DES on Saturday, May 14, 2022. 1:00pm-4:00pm. If you are interested in competing, please contact the front office but also look for email updates.

#### The Twenty-Third Annual UO Eugene Luks Programming Competition was held on April 13, 2019.

This year the department had 15 undergraduate teams (39 contestants) and one graduate team (1 contestant). The goal was to solve up to 5 problems in the shortest amount of time, following the format of the ACM programming contest. The winners were

# **Undergraduate Division**

- First Place: Alonzo Altamirano, Chase Craig, Taylor Santos (team tarta), 4 problems solved (time 315)
- Second Place: Daniel Beeman, Jeremiah Clothier, Noah Palmer (team silla), 3 problems solved (time 470)
- Third Place: Palmer Hogan, Max Terry, Aidan Potts (team naranja), 2 problems solved (time 208)
- Close Fourth: Nolan Rudolph (team rhonda). 2 problems solved (time 224)

#### Graduate Division

• First Place: Parsa Bagheri (team jenna), 2 problems solved (time 204)

# Acknowledgements to

- Software: Lauradel Collins
- Organization: Jon Kerr, Chris Wilson
- Judging: Lauradel Collins, Ramakrishnan Durairajan, Joe Sventek
- Problems: Ramakrishnan Durairajan, Gene Luks, Joe Sventek, Chris Wilson

#### The Twenty-Second Annual UO Eugene Luks Programming Competition was held on March 10, 2018.

This year the department had 13 undergraduate teams (37 contestants) and two graduate teams (4 contestants). The goal was to solve up to 6 problems in the shortest amount of time, following the format of the ACM programming contests. The winners were

#### **Undergraduate Division**

- First Place: Andrew Gao, Quinn Milionis, Andrew Werdermann (Team Mucca), 3 problems solved (time 428)
- Second Place: Palmer Hogan, Mateo Minato, Daniel Su (Team Krava), 3 problems solved (time 445)
- Third Place: Alonzo Altimirano, Kevin Kasimov, Taylor Santos (Team Beluga), 3 problems solved (time 521)

# **Graduate Division**

• First Place: Shweta Gupta, Bharath Kumar (Team Kluska), 3 problems solved (time 364)

#### Acknowledgements to

- Software: Lauradel Collins
- Organization: Anton Matschek, Chris Wilson
- Judging: Lauradel Collins, Ramakrishnan Durairajan, Gene Luks, Joe Sventek
- Problems: Ramakrishnan Durairajan, Gene Luks, Joe Sventek, Chris Wilson

# The Twenty-First Annual UO Eugene Luks Programming Competition was held on April 29, 2017.

There were 13 undergraduate teams and 2 graduate teams competing in the 2017 contest. The same PC<sup>2</sup> software that is used for the ACM contests was used for submitting and scoring our contest. The winners were:

**Undergraduate Division** 

• First Place: Yueqi Zhu (5 problems solved)

• Second Place: Freddie Wang, Ziming Guo, Fengzheng Wei (4 problems solved)

#### **Graduate Division**

• First Place: Raleigh Foster, Luke Mauer (all 6 problems solved)

• Second Place: Shweta Gupta, Bharath (4 problems solved)

# Acknowledgements to

• Organizers: Anton Matschek

• Problem Contributors: Daniel Lowd, Gene Luks, Chris WIlson

• Judges: Lauradel Collins, Gene Luks, Chris Wilson

• Systems Support: Lauradel Collins

# The Twentieth Annual UO Programming Competition was held on April 30, 2016.

There were 10 undergraduate teams and 1 graduate team competing in the 2016 contest. The same PC<sup>2</sup> software that is used for the ACM contests was used for submitting and scoring our contest.

• Undergraduate Division

• First Place: Rui Tu, Yueqi Zhu (team vacca)

• Second Place: Jacob Bieker, Theodore LaGrow, Matthew Jagielski (team bacca)

• Graduate Division

• First Place: Raleigh Foster, Zach Schmidt (team mucca)

Organizers: Adriane Bolliger, Chris Wilson

Problem Contributors: Jim Allen, Gene Luks, Chris Wilson

Judges: Paul Bloch, Phil Colbert, Gene Luks, Chris Wilson

Systems Support: Paul Bloch, Lauradel Collins